University of Warmia and Mazury Faculty of Medical Sciences, Poland

The University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn was established on September 1, 1999 from the merger of three higher education institutions in Olsztyn: the Agricultural and Technical Academy, the Higher School of Pedagogy and the Warmia Institute of Theology.

The history of the University of Warmia and Mazury goes back to 1950. On May 31 this year, the first university in Olsztyn was established – the Higher School of Agriculture , which was renamed in 1972 to the Agricultural and Technical Academy . On June 19, 1969, a Higher School of Teacher Training was established in Olsztyn , which was transformed in 1974 into a Higher School of Pedagogy . By contrast, on 23 April 1980 the Warmian Institute of Theology was established .

At the start, ie in 1999, UWM had 12 faculties and 32 faculties and 24.5 thousand students. The university had the right to habilitation in 6 scientific disciplines and to give doctorates in 13 disciplines. UWM currently consists of 17 faculties. 14 faculties have full academic rights, ie the right to confer doctoral degrees (in 16 disciplines). On the other hand, the doctor degree can be given to 16 faculties in 24 disciplines.

At these 17 faculties in the academic year 2016/17, over 74 courses are taught over 20 thousand. including 19,000 students. in full time studies and 600 doctoral students and 1.2 thousand. people at postgraduate studies.

The Faculty of Medical Sciences (FMS) of the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn was established on 17th July 2007.In the academic year 2007/2008 the Faculty continued studies in Nursing School (previously performed at the Faculty of Biology) and began preparations to an MD program in the School of Medicine and MSc studies in Nursing School.

1st of October 2008, the charter class was inaugurated at the School of Medicine. New medical students began classes in modern and furnished rooms in the Department of Anatomy and the Department of Histology and Embryology, the Department of Medical Biology, the Department of Human Physiology and the Department of Emergency Medicine. Some classes in the field of basic science are conducted on the basis of existing and well-prepared University units, such as the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Biophysics, the Department of Biochemistry, the Department of Biology, or the Department of Psychology and Sociology of the Faculty of Social Sciences at UWM.1st of October 2010 studies started in the English Language Program at the School of Medicine.

The Faculty of Medical Sciences is also one of the main users of the very sophisticated and well equipped Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory opened 21st May 2010. This laboratory was created by funds from European funding for joint use, together with the Department of Biology.

The Faculty of Medical Sciences also takes full advantage of university-wide structures, such as the modern University Library opened in 2007. The New Library building allowed the merging of distributed collections and significantly raised the quality of services offered. The new building can accommodate one and a half million library collections and provides 500 places in the reading rooms, 300 chairs in common areas such as classrooms and group work rooms.

28th of February 2011 the Commission for Academic Degrees and Titles Division of Medical Sciences gave the Faculty of Medical Sciences of the University of Warmia and Mazury the right to confer the academic degree of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).

Related Links

Click here for (Real Information & Real Package) about MBBS in ChinaMBBS in BangladeshMBBS/MD in GeorgiaMBBS/MD in Other Countries


Call/Whatsapp Mr. Arun Bapna +91 90010 99110 for personalize counseling based on Entrance Exam Score, 12th Percentage, 12th Passing Year and Budget.

You cannot copy content of this page