University of Florence, Italy

The University of Florence is an Italian public research university located in Florence, Italy. It comprises 12 schools and has about 60,000 students enrolled.

The first university in Florence was the Studio Generale, which was established by the Florentine Republic in 1321. The Studium was recognized by Pope Clement VI in 1349, and authorized to grant regular degrees. The Pope also established that the first Italian facultyof theology would be in Florence. The Studium became an imperial university in 1364, but was moved to Pisa in 1473 when Lorenzo the Magnificent gained control of Florence. Charles VIII moved it back from 1497–1515, but it was moved to Pisa again when the Medici family returned to power.

The modern university dates from 1859, when a group of disparate higher-studies institutions grouped together in the Istituto di Studi Pratici e di Perfezionamento, which a year later was recognized as a full-fledged university by the government of newly unified Italy. In 1923, the Istituto was officially denominated as University by the Italian Parliament.

The 12 schools of the university are: Agriculture; Architecture; Arts; Economics; Education; Engineering; Law; Mathematics, Physics and Natural Sciences; Medicine and Surgery; Pharmacology; Political Science; and Psychology.

Faculties are located in traditionally strategic areas based on their subject matter. The Faculty of Economics, Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Political Sciences are in the Polo delle Scienze Sociali (campus of social sciences), in the Novoli district, near the new courthouse. The Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, the Faculty of Pharmacology, and certain scientific and engineering departments are in the Careggi district, close to the hospital. The Faculty of Engineering is located at the S. Marta Institute, whereas the Faculty of Agriculture is in front of the Parco delle Cascine. The Faculty of Mathematical, Physical and Natural Sciences is located in Sesto Fiorentino. The Faculty of Architecture is in the center of the city, as the Accademia di Belle Arti, home of Michelangelo’s David. The Faculties of Literature, History, Philosophy, and Pedagogy are in the centre of Florence.

One hundred and twenty-six degree courses (first and second level) organized in 10 schools, a total population of about fifty-one thousand members, a quarter of which comes from outside the region.
The University of Florence is a great university, with a very broad educational offer, which extends to all subject areas.

Over nine thousand graduates every year in Florence. Moreover, the percentage of Florentine graduates working, after a year from the three-year degree, according to Almalaurea data, is higher than the national average.

The five disciplinary area libraries (Biomedical, Sciences, Social Sciences, Technological and Humanistic Sciences) that make up the University Library System provide users with a bibliographic patrimony of over 3.541.000 documents made up of modern and ancient material, on paper (books, periodicals, geographical maps, etc.) and other media (microforms, audiovisuals, information resources on CDs, DVDs, etc.).
Besides the bibliographical patrimony placed in the libraries, a digital collection is accessible on line, which can be consulted by all institutional users also from PCs outside the university area, represented by different types of materials: 88.163 electronic periodicals, 156.968 ebooks, 320 databases, 6,169 documents filed by the academic community in the institutional repository of the FLORE University .

All India Call & WhatsApp Helpline for MBBS/MD Admission : +91 9001099110

Popular Links | MBBS in India, MBBS in China, MBBS in BangladeshMBBS in Georgia

You cannot copy content of this page