University of Hamburg Medical Faculty, Germany

The University of Hamburg was founded in 1919 on the initiative of Hamburg citizens. Important founders of the foundation were Senator Werner von Melle and the businessman Edmund Siemers. Nobel laureates such as Otto Stern, Wolfgang Pauli, Isidore Rabi, Hans Jensen worked at the University of Hamburg.

The University of Hamburg offers the opportunity to choose from around 170 courses at the following eight faculties: Faculty of Law, Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Natural Sciences, Faculty of Psychology and Exercise Science, Faculty of Business Administration. University of Hamburg is the biggest research and education institution in Northern Germany and one of the most extensive universities in Germany. The main campus is located in the central district of Rotherbaum, with affiliated institutes and research centres spread around the city state.

Over 180 properties, scattered throughout the city, make up the University of Hamburg.The Main Building stands on the Moorweide opposite Hamburg Dammtor station, not far from the main campus at Von-Melle-Park. The State and University Library Hamburg, the Audimax (Auditorium) and several other teaching buildings are all located in that area. A second cluster of university buildings are grouped around Martin Luther King Square in the same quarter. The Geomatikum marks the western end of the campus, near Schlump Metro Station. Several departments are located in other quarters: Physics is spread over branches at Jungiusstraße, Bergedorf (along with the Hamburg Observatory) and Bahrenfeld (with the world-renowned DESY and other facilities). Biology has locations in Flottbeck, while Computer sciences were moved to Stellingen in 1991. The medical school is located in the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf.

In addition, the University has numerous museums and exhibits including the Zoological Museum, the Herbarium Hamburgense and the Geological-Paleontological Museum, as well as the Botanical Garden and the Hamburg Observatory.

The ÄZB is the central specialized library of the medical faculty of the University of Hamburg and thus an important partner for research and teaching.

The medical faculty of the University of Hamburg is the scientific arm of the UKE. The medical faculty offers teaching, study, research and advanced training in the medical sciences

The annual recruitment of about 7,000 freshmen contributes to the current total of 41,000 students, out of which 6,000 graduate every year, including around 900 with a doctorate. Students can choose from 149 different majors which are offered by six faculties. With almost 700 professors engaged in teaching and research, the University of Hamburg is the largest in Hamburg. In addition, over 3,600 academic staff and 6,100 administrative and technical staff members are employed in the university.

All India Call & WhatsApp Helpline for MBBS/MD Admission : +91 9001099110

Popular Links | MBBS in India, MBBS in China, MBBS in BangladeshMBBS in Georgia

You cannot copy content of this page