University of Medicine of Tirana (UMT), Albania

The University of Medicine, Tirana (UMT) is the largest public teaching center of university and postgraduate education in medical sciences in the Republic of Albania, offering the most professional professional expertise in didactics, scientific research and in the preparation of specialists of all fields of medicine .

The University of Medicine, Tirana is an important part of the country’s scientific, intellectual and cultural history. This Institution of Higher Public Education, though created three years ago, carries the very precious 64-year tradition that has its origin in the creation of Higher Education in the Republic of Albania with the establishment of the Higher Institute of Medicine in 1952, who in 1957 formed the Faculty of Medicine. University of Medicine, Tirana was established on 23.01.2013 with the Decision of the Council of Ministers Nr. 48, “On the establishment of the University of Medicine, Tirana (UMT)”. The establishment of the University came as a result of radical changes in the structures of public higher education institutions in Albania.

With the establishment of the University, its structure was joined by the Faculty of Medicine and the former Faculty of Nursing, who were separated from the multi-year structure of the University of Tirana and became an integral part of the five main units of this university that were divided respectively, in five faculties: Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Dental Medicine, Faculty of Public Health and Faculty of Medical Sciences.

The University of Medicine, Tirana is one of the most important universities in Albania. UMT comprises three Faculties, 21 academic departments. The study programs are divided in three academic levels Bachelor, Master of Sciences/Professional, Integrated Master of Sciences and Doctoral degrees. The UMT also offers programs of specialty studies for medical practice at the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Dental Medicine (2–4 years). The University of Medicine, Tirana is composed of over 300 academic staff, 78 Full Professors and around 7.500 students enrolled at the three levels of study Bachelor (Bsc), Master (MP and Msc) and Doctoral degree (Phd).

The University of Medicine, Tirana’s campus is located in the urban area, near the University Hospital Center “Mother Teresa”.

All India Call & WhatsApp Helpline for MBBS/MD Admission : +91 9001099110

Popular Links | MBBS in India, MBBS in China, MBBS in BangladeshMBBS in Georgia

You cannot copy content of this page