Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, USA

The Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, located in the Streeterville neighborhood of Chicago, in the U.S. state of Illinois and situated near Lake Michigan and the Magnificent Mile, is one of Northwestern University’s 12 schools and colleges. The medical school offers a full-time Doctor of Medicine degree program, multiple joint degree programs, graduate medical education, and continuing medical education.

The mission of the Feinberg School of Medicine is to educate the next generation of physicians and scientists. Feinberg ranked 17th among American medical schools for research by U.S. News & World Report in 2017. It also is committed to patient care and community service. Through clinical affiliates Northwestern Memorial Hospital, the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago and the Shirley Ryan Ability Lab (formerly Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago), Feinberg faculty provide patient care to tens of thousands of individuals every year. Feinberg and its clinical affiliates are together a $5 billion academic medical enterprise.The school employs 4,000 faculty members.

Founded as the medical department of Lind University on October 11, 1859 and renamed the Chicago Medical College in 1863, the school affiliated with Northwestern University in 1870. In 1906, the name was changed to Northwestern University Medical School. It had occupied buildings on the near south side of Chicago from 1863 until the Montgomery Ward Memorial Building was constructed in Streeterville in 1926.

Northwestern University Medical School was renamed the Feinberg School of Medicine in 2002, reflecting a $75 million donation from the Joseph and Bessie Feinberg Foundation. Reuben Feinberg started to donate to the university after being hospitalized at Northwestern Memorial Hospital for a heart attack. The first donation, in 1988, was for $17 million to establish the Feinberg Cardiovascular Research Institute. A $10 million donation was subsequently sent in 1996 to establish the Frances Evelyn Feinberg Clinical Neurosciences Institute.

The Montgomery Ward Memorial building at the Feinberg School of Medicine

Northwestern was also affiliated with a medical school for women. The Woman’s Hospital Medical College was established in 1870, and later changed its name to the Woman’s Medical College of Chicago. It became affiliated with Northwestern University in 1892 as Northwestern University Woman’s Medical School. The Women’s Medical College closed in 1902.

On September 1, 2013, Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation, the medical school’s physician’s group, joined Northwestern Memorial HealthCare (NMHC), the health system that includes Northwestern Memorial Hospital, forming a new physician’s group called Northwestern Medical Group. Together, NMHC and Feinberg jointly share the brand “Northwestern Medicine.”

On May 8, 2015, exactly 90 years after Northwestern University first broke ground on the Chicago campus; Feinberg broke ground on the Louis A. Simpson and Kimberly K. Query Biomedical Research Center. When complete, the building will add 600,000 square feet and 14 stories of research space to the downtown campus.

The Feinberg School of Medicine is home to 663 medical students. The class of students who graduated in 2017 are the 158th graduating class. For the 2017 entering class, 7,516 people applied for 161 seats. The median undergraduate GPA and MCAT score for successful applicants are 3.89 and 520 (37 for the old median), respectively.

In 2012, Feinberg’s entering medical students began a new curriculum, organized into three phases and emphasizing integration of four main curricular elements: science in medicine, clinical medicine, health & society, and professional development. The goal of the renewal process is to build a more learner-centered educational program that (1) fully integrates scientific principles in a clinical context; (2) stimulates inquiry and investigation; (3) has an assessment system that comprehensively evaluates student achievement in each of the core competencies; (4) reinforces a culture of learning, teamwork, and excellence; (5) is flexible and able to meet the unique needs of individual students as they learn and differentiate.

For medical students, the school offers four-year dual degree programs, which combine the Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree with a Master of Public Health (MPH), a Master of Artsin Medical Humanities and Bioethics (MA), a Master of Science in Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety (MS), or a Master of Business Administration (MBA). Students electing to pursue the additional degrees enroll in evening classes and graduate with both degrees. Two MD/PhD programs are offered, one in combination with Northwestern University’s Graduate School (Medical Scientist Training Program) and one with the University’s Institute for Neuroscience.

All India Call & WhatsApp Helpline for MBBS/MD Admission : +91 9001099110

Popular Links | MBBS in India, MBBS in China, MBBS in BangladeshMBBS in Georgia

You cannot copy content of this page