Can Tho University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Viet Nam

On 31 March 1966, Cần Thơ University (Viện Đại học Cần Thơ) was established by the government of the Republic of Vietnam. The original university included four faculties: Sciences, Law and Social Sciences, Letters and Pedagogy. After the Fall of Saigon, the university developed into a comprehensive university for the Mekong Delta region with several faculties added. In 2003, the Faculty of Medicine split to form the Can Tho University of Medicine and Pharmacy.

Can Tho University (CTU), an important state higher education institution in the Mekong Delta, is the cultural, scientific and technical center of the Delta. Since its founding in 1966, CTU has been improving and developing itself. It has an enrolment of more than 45,000 students. Every year CTU receives intership students from the U.S, Belgium, Japan and others, or under agreements between their universities and CTU.

At present, the total number of CTU staff is around 2,000, including 1,203 lecturers (233 PhDs and 653 Masters, constituting to 73.6% of staff members with postgraduate degrees). The current training capacity of CTU is more than 45,000 students involving full-time undergraduate and postgraduate students, part-time as well as distance-learning students. CTU possesses 87 training programs and branches of undergraduate including 2 advanced training programs in English, 33 Master training programs and 11 PhD ones, together with 2 training programs of junior college.

The main missions are training, conducting scientific research, and transferring technology to serve the regional and national socio-economic development. In addition to its training responsibilities, CTU has actively taken part in scientific research projects, applying the advances in scientific and technological knowledge to solving problems related to science, technology, economics, culture and society in the region. From achievements in its scientific research and international cooperation projects, the university has developed a variety of products and technological production processes that benefit people’s lives and promote export, thus helping the university gain prestige in national and international markets.

The university has established scientific and technological cooperation with many international organizations, universities, and research institutes. As a result of these cooperative projects, the staff’s administrative capabilities and specializations have been upgraded. The facilities, experimental equipment, and scientific materials have also been added.

Up to now, Can Tho University (CTU) has 17 unit for academic training (8 colleges, 7 schools, 1 high school, 1 unit for academic training) and many other support departments. The 17 unit for academic training includes.

Can Tho University (Vietnamese: Trường Đi hc Cn Thơ) is an university in Can Tho, Vietnam. Established in 1966, it is a multidisciplinary university and a leading university in the Mekong Delta. Can Tho University is a leading agricultural research center in Vietnam. Can Tho University has nine colleges and two research institutes.

You cannot copy content of this page