University of Manila, Philippines

The University of Manila (UM)  is a private university in the heart of Sampaloc District in Manila, Philippines. It was founded on October 5, 1913, by Apolinario G. de los Santos, Mariano V. de los Santos, Maria de los Santos, Buenaventura J. Bello and Antonio Rivero. The first three were siblings. They named their school Instituto de Manila, after the city of Manila and Apolinario G. de los Santos was elected as the first director of the school.

The International Language School offers courses in the English language to foreign students like the Chinese, Japanese, and Koreans. It also offers courses in the Chinese language and (Nihongo) language. The International Language School building likewise provides accommodations for foreign students.

The University of Manila UM Hawks won seven championships in the NAASCU League. UM was a member of University Athletic Association of the Philippinesfrom 1952 to 1954.

On April 7, 1957, UM entered into a sisterhood relationship with Dohto University of Sapporo and Monbetsu cities, Hokkaido, Japan. Since then, it has undertaken various projects including faculty exchange visits, and technological and library assistance. UM students have also been given the opportunity to study at Tokai University in Tokyo, Japan through an arrangement with the Philippine-Japan Students’ Friendship Exchange Association. Twenty years later, October 31, 1977, UM concluded a sisterhood relationship with Hansung University in Seoul, Korea. On January 1, 1997, in Taipei, UM’s high-school department also linked a sisterhood relationship with Cheng Kung Commercial and Technical High School in Pate City, Taiwan, Republic Of China. A sisterhood relationship was again entered into by the university with Meio University of Nago City, Okinawa, Japan on Dec. 5, 1988.

The University of Manila is an active member of the Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities (PACU), Commission on Higher Education, Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL), Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities Commission on Accreditation (PACUCOA), Philippine Association of Teacher Education (PAFTE), Philippine Society for Educational Research and Evaluation (PSERE), the University Belt Consortium, and the International Association of Universities.

The library is considered an integral part of instruction and research; thus, the University has a main library and satellite libraries that provide the printed materials and software needed by the academic community in the teaching-learning process and in research and development.  The library has the OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog).

The University medical and dental clinics are located at the ground floor of the main building. Both are open during weekdays and Saturdays included from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

Related Links

Click here for (Real Information & Real Package) about MBBS in ChinaMBBS in BangladeshMBBS/MD in GeorgiaMBBS/MD in Other Countries


Call/Whatsapp Mr. Arun Bapna +91 90010 99110 for personalize counseling based on Entrance Exam Score, 12th Percentage, 12th Passing Year and Budget.

You cannot copy content of this page