University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, USA

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (UT Southwestern) is a medical education and biomedical research institution in the United States. It is located in the Southwestern Medical District, a 1,000 plus-acre campus in Dallas that incorporates three degree-granting institutions – UT Southwestern Medical School, UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, UT Southwestern School of Health Professions – along with four affiliated hospitals: Parkland Hospital, Children’s Health, Zale Lipshy University Hospital, and William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital.

One of the largest medical schools in the country, UT Southwestern annually trains about 3,700 medical, graduate, and health-professions students, residents, and postdoctoral fellows each year. Ongoing support from federal agencies, such as the National Institutes of Health, along with foundations, individuals, and corporations, provides approximately $422.6 million per year to fund more than 5,700 research projects.

UT Southwestern faculty physicians provide patient care at UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics, Parkland Health & Hospital System, Children’s Medical Center, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, VA North Texas Health Care System, and other affiliated hospitals and community clinics. Faculty and residents care for more than 100,000 hospitalized patients and oversee approximately 2.2 million outpatient visits a year, providing more than $106.7 million in unreimbursed clinical services annually.

In the spring of 2016, UT Southwestern began providing additional care through a new, clinically integrated health care network called Southwestern Health Resources, which blends the systems of Texas Health Resources and UT Southwestern to provide increased access to primary and specialized care to North Texas residents, from preventive measures to advanced interventions. The network comprises 27 hospitals, 300 clinics, and more than 2,000 physicians, spanning a 16-county service area with more than 6 million residents.

UT Southwestern is one of approximately 60 academic health centers nationwide that are members of the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) program, a national consortium of medical research institutions funded through the National Institutes of Health’s national Center for Research Resources. CTSAs encourage collaboration across scientific disciplines, train clinical and translational researchers, and drive innovative approaches to research challenges.

With approximately 14,400 employees and an operating budget of nearly $2.5 billion, UT Southwestern is one of six medical schools in the UT System. Its three-part mission is to: educate the next generation of leaders in patient care, biomedical science, and disease prevention; conduct high-impact research; and deliver patient care that brings UTSW’s scientific advances to the bedside – focusing on quality, safety, and service.

Under the leadership of Dr. Edward H. Cary and Karl Hoblitzelle, a group of prominent Dallas citizens organized Southwestern Medical Foundation in 1939 to promote medical education and research in Dallas and the region. When Baylor University elected to move its school of medicine from Dallas to Houston in 1943, the foundation formally established Southwestern Medical College as the 68th medical school in the United States. Founded during World War II, the medical school was initially housed in a handful of abandoned barracks.

All India Call & WhatsApp Helpline for MBBS/MD Admission : +91 9001099110

Popular Links | MBBS in India, MBBS in China, MBBS in BangladeshMBBS in Georgia

You cannot copy content of this page