University of Dundee School of Medicine, UK

The University of Dundee School of Medicine is the division concerned with medical education and clinical research at the University of Dundee in Scotland. In 1967, Dundee’s medical school became independent in its own right having started in 1889 as a joint venture between the University of St Andrews and University College Dundee. In 1974 the medical school moved to a large teaching facility based at Ninewells Hospital in the west of Dundee. The School of Medicine now encompasses undergraduate, postgraduate, specialist teaching centres and four research divisions.

In 1881, when University College Dundee was founded, the city of Dundee contained the Royal Infirmary and the Royal Lunatic Asylum which would provide medical teaching space for the new institution. The College however, had no power to award degrees and thus in 1887 proposed a merger with the nearby University of St Andrews.

The Universities (Scotland) Act 1889 paved the way for an affiliation between St Andrews and University College Dundee. During the 1894-95 session, there were nine Professors engaged in teaching fifty matriculated students. Formal Union between St Andrews University and College of Dundee was achieved in 1897.

Buildings for the Dundee Medical School were officially opened in 1904, with the intention of accommodating 100–150 students.The buildings were designed by Dundee-based architect John Murray Robertson before his death in 1901 and were completed by James Findlay and David Smith from 1903-04.On their first visit to the new medical school examiners from the General Medical Council judged it to be “sufficient”.

By 1949, the Dundee Royal Infirmary and the Maryfield Hospital were both being used for teaching medical students, but it was already apparent that to expand capacity it would be more economical to build a new facility away from the centre of the city.By 1961, plans were being exhibited for a new building that would allow the medical school to increase to a capacity of 500 students.

In 1967, a University Charter was awarded to Queens College, formerly University College, and it became the University of Dundee Medical School, now separate from St Andrews.

Opened in 1974 by the Queen Mother, the Ninewells Hospital & Medical School took over from the Dundee Royal Infirmary as the principal site of medical teaching for the University and eventually led to the closure of the Royal Infirmary in 1998.

In August 2015 the University had a reorganisation into a new academic school structure with nine schools. The medical school had previously been part of the “College of Medicine, Dentistry & Nursing”. As well as undergraduate and postgraduate medical courses, the School of Medicine also incorporates skills centres and research units. As of 2015, there are 1,009 undergraduates and 2,645 postgraduate students enrolled at the School of Medicine.

Together with Ninewells Hospital, Perth Royal Infirmary to the west and Stracathro Hospital to the north provide clinical experience and teaching facilities for the University’s medical students. A modern clinical simulation area was opened in November 2011.

In 2011, plans for a glass-fronted extension to the medical school buildings at Ninewells were announced.In April 2015, a reduction of fifteen academic staff posts was announced

All India Call & WhatsApp Helpline for MBBS/MD Admission : +91 9001099110

Popular Links | MBBS in India, MBBS in China, MBBS in BangladeshMBBS in Georgia

You cannot copy content of this page